Escargot Bourgignonne

Full disclosure, this blog post appeared on my other site What’s Cooking at the Genua’s? almost 8 years ago! I’ve updated the copy a bit but it’s still the same delicious recipe.

Escargot Bourgignonne

 

Cruises are a wonderful thing. In the last 27 years I’ve been on 19 (20 this January 2019), so far. Most (12, soon to be 13) of them on Carnival Cruise Lines. My husband John and I take cruise vacations over all others for the most part. Sure we used to go up to my family’s summer place in Maine and we just fell in love with Hawaii but that’s different. Cruises are wonderful. You get treated like royalty. No making your beds or cleaning your room! It’s wonderful. Someone cooks for you 24/7 and cleans up! Gotta love that! But one of the best things about cruising is that you get to try all kinds of food that you would normally not have. Escargot for instance. I had them on my very first cruise and I’ve been hooked ever since! I don’t care that they are really fancy slugs. It’s my way of payback for all damage slugs have done to my gardens over the years!

Anyway, I’ve had them in many different styles. This version is pretty popular. On the cruise ships you get them this way or even covered in cheese! Cheese, garlic, wine, oil…All very tasty! Every cruise we take we always look forward to the night we get to eat snails! I would eat them more if they served them more. This recipe is actually from Carnival Cruise Lines. I bought their cookbook on my 2nd cruise, which was actually my first Carnival Cruise. A few years back there was a shortage of the little buggers because of weather conditions where they’re from, but they came back! YAY!  But I digress…Escargot! This recipe isn’t very hard and you can get cans of the little guys in pretty much every supermarket. They are in the tuna/canned fish aisle. I do prefer the ones they served drowned in butter and garlic, with bread on the side for dunking! Heavenly! Serve in an escargot dish or a shallow bowl. Whatever you have will work! 

INGREDIENTS:

¾ cup butter

2 tablespoons minced garlic

1 tablespoon finely chopped onion

2 tablespoons white wine

1 tsp Pernod or anise-flavored liqueur (omit if you don’t like anise)

Pinch grated nutmeg

1 can escargot, well-drained

1 tablespoon chopped parsley

 

DIRECTIONS:

1. In a large frying pan, melt butter over high heat; stir in garlic and onion. Cook until tender but not brown.

2. Stir in wine, liqueur, nutmeg and escargot; season to taste with salt and pepper.

3. Reduce heat to low; simmer 10-15 minutes or until flavors are blended. Sprinkle with parsley.

Serves 6

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.